News

This Day in Mendocino County History: May 17, 1880-Mendocino’s Jarvis & Nichols Merchandise Rebrands

In collaboration with Mendocino’s Kelley House Museum, MendoFever will be publishing their “This Day in Mendocino History” Facebook posts. The Kelley House Museum works hard to document and curate Mendocino County’s rich history and can be visited in the seaside town of Mendocino.

[Photo provided by the Kelley House Museum]

May 17, 1880 – Jarvis & Nichols general merchandise store re-opened under its new name. James A. Nichols, former woods boss and later superintendent, joined forces with Henry H. Jarvis, in forming the new concern. It replaced the previous Jarvis & Dollard general merchandise store. Jarvis’ original partner, Thomas Dollard, had been killed in an ambush by the Mendocino Outlaws on October 15, 1879.

𝑰𝒏𝒕𝒆𝒓𝒆𝒔𝒕𝒆𝒅 π’Šπ’ 𝒂 π’‘π’‚π’“π’•π’Šπ’„π’–π’π’‚π’“ 𝒂𝒔𝒑𝒆𝒄𝒕 𝒐𝒇 π‘΄π’†π’π’…π’π’„π’Šπ’π’β€™π’” π’‰π’Šπ’”π’•π’π’“π’š? 𝑭𝒐𝒓 𝒂 π’”π’Žπ’‚π’π’ 𝒇𝒆𝒆, 𝒕𝒉𝒆 π‘²π’†π’π’π’†π’š 𝑯𝒐𝒖𝒔𝒆 π‘΄π’–π’”π’†π’–π’Ž π’˜π’Šπ’π’ 𝒓𝒆𝒔𝒆𝒂𝒓𝒄𝒉 π’Šπ’• 𝒇𝒐𝒓 π’šπ’π’–. π‘½π’Šπ’”π’Šπ’• 𝒖𝒔 𝒂𝒕 π’˜π’˜π’˜.π’Œπ’†π’π’π’†π’šπ’‰π’π’–π’”π’†π’Žπ’–π’”π’†π’–π’Ž.π’π’“π’ˆ

Photo: View of businesses on the north side of Main Street in Mendocino, looking west, c. 1881.

L – R: J. D. Murray Drug Store; Chung Kow Wash House on northwest corner of Kasten and Main Streets; Jarvis and Nichols Mercantile; John A. Barry, barber, with his children; Marks and Cohen, General Mercantile; C. O. Packard’s Drug Store, Saddlery, Carpentry and Harness Store. Justin Packard is leaning against the post of the drug store. John Peter Lindberg, harness maker, and Walter Ferral, attorney-at-law, are standing in the doorway of the harness shop.

Categories: News

Leave a Reply