MendoHistory

This Day in MendoHistory: May 23, 1914- Mendocino Drug Company Opens Its Doors

 In collaboration with Mendocino’s Kelley House Museum, MendoFever will be publishing their “This Day in Mendocino History” Facebook posts. The Kelley House Museum works hard to document and curate Mendocino County’s rich history and can be visited in the seaside town of Mendocino.

Photo: John Triguerio in front of the Mendocino Drug Company on the corner of Lansing and Main Street. (Kelley House Collection, Kelley House Photographs)

Mendocino Drug Company opened its new store in the Kelley building on the corner of Main and Lansing streets. The interior of the shop had snow-white woodwork, relieved by large panels with brown and green backgrounds. Manager John E. Triguerio carried drugs, sundries, art supplies, stationery, women’s hats, ice cream, and candy. He also installed a soda fountain. Later in the year, he added a display gallery that included needle work and artistic drawings.

Triguerio operated the drug store from 1914 – 1918. The Kelley building was built in 1871 by William H. Kelley as his general merchandise store and was later leased to Brown & Gray and then to the drug store.

𝘐𝘧 𝘺𝘰𝘶’𝘥 𝘭𝘪𝘬𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘬𝘯𝘰𝘸 𝘮𝘰𝘳𝘦 𝘢𝘣𝘰𝘶𝘵 𝘺𝘰𝘶𝘳 𝘔𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘰𝘤𝘪𝘯𝘰 𝘩𝘰𝘶𝘴𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘩𝘦𝘭𝘱 𝘴𝘶𝘱𝘱𝘰𝘳𝘵 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘒𝘦𝘭𝘭𝘦𝘺 𝘏𝘰𝘶𝘴𝘦, 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘵𝘢𝘤𝘵 𝘒𝘢𝘳𝘦𝘯 𝘔𝘤𝘎𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘩 𝘢𝘵 curator@kelleyhousemuseum.org

Categories: MendoHistory

Leave a Reply