In collaboration with Mendocino’s Kelley House Museum, MendoFever will be publishing their “This Day in Mendocino History” Facebook posts. The Kelley House Museum works hard to document and curate Mendocino County’s rich history and can be visited in the seaside town of Mendocino.
On this day in Mendocino history…
June 1, 1928 – 24-hour telephone service began in Mendocino. This long-awaited improvement in service increased the number of operators to three, each working an 8-hour shift, with an extra operator for emergencies. The telephone equipment was also updated, including a larger switchboard.
𝘔𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘰𝘤𝘪𝘯𝘰 𝘙𝘰𝘤𝘬𝘩𝘰𝘶𝘯𝘥𝘴” – 𝘋𝘢𝘷𝘪𝘥 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘒𝘢𝘵𝘺 𝘛𝘢𝘩𝘫𝘢’𝘴 𝘳𝘰𝘤𝘬 𝘤𝘰𝘭𝘭𝘦𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯, 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘧𝘪𝘳𝘴𝘵 𝘦𝘹𝘩𝘪𝘣𝘪𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘰𝘶𝘳 𝘊𝘖𝘈𝘚𝘛𝘈𝘓 𝘊𝘖𝘓𝘓𝘌𝘊𝘛𝘐𝘖𝘕𝘚 𝘴𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘴, 𝘪𝘴 𝘰𝘯 𝘷𝘪𝘦𝘸 𝘵𝘩𝘳𝘶 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘥 𝘰𝘧 𝘑𝘶𝘯𝘦 𝘰𝘯 𝘚𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘥𝘢𝘺𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘚𝘶𝘯𝘥𝘢𝘺𝘴, 11𝘢𝘮-3𝘱𝘮 𝘢𝘵 45007 𝘈𝘭𝘣𝘪𝘰𝘯 𝘚𝘵𝘳𝘦𝘦𝘵, 𝘔𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘰𝘤𝘪𝘯𝘰. 𝘊𝘰𝘯𝘵𝘢𝘤𝘵 𝘶𝘴 𝘢𝘵 email@example.com