MendoHistory

This Day in MendoHistory: June 3, 1912- A Scorcher on the Coast

In collaboration with Mendocino’s Kelley House Museum, MendoFever will be publishing their “This Day in Mendocino History” Facebook posts. The Kelley House Museum works hard to document and curate Mendocino County’s rich history and can be visited in the seaside town of Mendocino.

Photo: Photograph of the road on the way to Burke’s Camp in Little River.
Burke’s Camp was named after William Burke, a tie contractor with Mendocino Lumber Company. He began his business around 1903 and retired in 1914. (Linda Mechling, The Nicholson-Ellison Family Collection, Kelley House Museum)

On this day in Mendocino history…

June 3, 1912 – One of the warmest days experienced on the coast for a long time. At Burke’s railroad tie making camp (located one mile upstream from the Little Northfork), the thermometer registered 96 degrees. In a number of places close to the coast, the thermometer reached the hundred mark.

𝘐𝘧 𝘺𝘰𝘶’𝘥 𝘭𝘪𝘬𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘳𝘯 𝘮𝘰𝘳𝘦 𝘢𝘣𝘰𝘶𝘵 𝘔𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘰𝘤𝘪𝘯𝘰 𝘩𝘪𝘴𝘵𝘰𝘳𝘺 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘢 𝘴𝘮𝘢𝘭𝘭 𝘧𝘦𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘩𝘦𝘭𝘱 𝘴𝘶𝘱𝘱𝘰𝘳𝘵 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘒𝘦𝘭𝘭𝘦𝘺 𝘏𝘰𝘶𝘴𝘦, 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘵𝘢𝘤𝘵 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘙𝘦𝘴𝘦𝘢𝘳𝘤𝘩 𝘖𝘧𝘧𝘪𝘤𝘦 𝘢𝘵 curator@kelleyhousemuseum.org

Categories: MendoHistory

Leave a Reply