In collaboration with Mendocino’s Kelley House Museum, MendoFever will be publishing their “This Day in Mendocino History” Facebook posts. The Kelley House Museum works hard to document and curate Mendocino County’s rich history and can be visited in the seaside town of Mendocino.
On this day in Mendocino history…
June 6, 1887 – The Mendocino Hospital Company was formed. The company’s directors were Dr. W. A. McCornack, Medical Supervisor, Charles C. Johnson, Treasurer, and Charles P. Thomas, General manager.
A $2 membership fee plus $1 per month entitled a patient to admission, treatment, and medicine at the hospital when sick or injured, free of further charges.
The Hospital Company operated in a rented house located on the southeast corner of Ukiah and Howard Streets until 1895, when the hospital moved to Main Street across from the Ford House. In 1897, Dr. McCornack moved his practice to Fort Bragg and established a 33-bed hospital there.