In collaboration with Mendocino’s Kelley House Museum, MendoFever will be publishing their “This Day in Mendocino History” Facebook posts. The Kelley House Museum works hard to document and curate Mendocino County’s rich history and can be visited in the seaside town of Mendocino.
𝘚𝘩𝘰𝘱𝘱𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘰𝘯 𝘈𝘮𝘢𝘻𝘰𝘯? 𝘋𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘒𝘦𝘭𝘭𝘦𝘺 𝘏𝘰𝘶𝘴𝘦 𝘢𝘵 𝘯𝘰 𝘤𝘰𝘴𝘵 𝘵𝘰 𝘺𝘰𝘶! 𝘊𝘩𝘰𝘰𝘴𝘦 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘒𝘦𝘭𝘭𝘦𝘺 𝘏𝘰𝘶𝘴𝘦 𝘔𝘶𝘴𝘦𝘶𝘮 𝘢𝘵 https://smile.amazon.com 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘈𝘮𝘢𝘻𝘰𝘯 𝘸𝘪𝘭𝘭 𝘥𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘢 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘤𝘦𝘯𝘵𝘢𝘨𝘦 𝘰𝘧 𝘺𝘰𝘶𝘳 𝘱𝘶𝘳𝘤𝘩𝘢𝘴𝘦𝘴 𝘵𝘰 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘒𝘦𝘭𝘭𝘦𝘺 𝘏𝘰𝘶𝘴𝘦!
On this day in Mendocino history…
June 23, 1926 – The Camp Fire Girls returned to Mendocino from their camping trip on Big River. They had spent two weeks camping near the Lumber Company’s Lower Ranch.
The longest hike taken was up the river to Two-Log. Each girl carried her own food and blankets. After an invigorating swim at Two-Log, the girls cooked supper over an open camp fire. The next morning, the girls hiked back from Two-Log to their camp fighting off wood ticks and blackberry brambles.
“The girls all agreed they had a splendid time and the eats – well, they couldn’t be beat.”
𝘔𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘰𝘤𝘪𝘯𝘰 𝘊𝘪𝘵𝘺: 𝘈 𝘋𝘢𝘪𝘭𝘺 𝘑𝘰𝘶𝘳𝘯𝘢𝘭 1852-1938 𝘣𝘺 𝘞. 𝘍𝘳𝘢𝘯𝘤𝘪𝘴 𝘑𝘢𝘤𝘬𝘴𝘰𝘯 – 𝘏𝘪𝘴𝘵𝘰𝘳𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘔𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘰𝘤𝘪𝘯𝘰 𝘯𝘦𝘸𝘴 𝘰𝘳𝘨𝘢𝘯𝘪𝘻𝘦𝘥 𝘣𝘺 𝘥𝘢𝘺. 𝘌𝘢𝘤𝘩 𝘮𝘰𝘯𝘵𝘩 𝘪𝘯𝘤𝘭𝘶𝘥𝘦𝘴 𝘤𝘰𝘭𝘭𝘦𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘴 𝘰𝘧 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘢 𝘥𝘦𝘵𝘢𝘪𝘭𝘦𝘥 𝘮𝘢𝘱 𝘰𝘧 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘵𝘰𝘸𝘯. $18 https://www.kelleyhousemuseum.org/store/