In collaboration with Mendocino’s Kelley House Museum, MendoFever will be publishing their “This Day in Mendocino History” Facebook posts. The Kelley House Museum works hard to document and curate Mendocino County’s rich history and can be visited in the seaside town of Mendocino.
On this day in Mendocino history…
July 18, 1922 – John Norberry went to Hellsgate logging dam on the Southfork of Big River to increase the height of the dam by two feet and add another gate to the structure. The improvements would increase the volume of water driving logs down the river during freshet time.
Constructed by Norberry in late 1912, Hellsgate was originally 33 feet high and 200 feet wide across the top, with a single gate to release water. The dam backed water up for nearly two miles and took almost five hours to drain.
Hellsgate Dam was last used in 1937 and destroyed in April of 1942.
𝘛𝘩𝘦 𝘒𝘦𝘭𝘭𝘦𝘺 𝘏𝘰𝘶𝘴𝘦 𝘯𝘦𝘦𝘥𝘴 𝘺𝘰𝘶𝘳 𝘩𝘦𝘭𝘱! 𝘝𝘰𝘭𝘶𝘯𝘵𝘦𝘦𝘳 𝘵𝘰 𝘣𝘦 𝘢 𝘥𝘰𝘤𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘰𝘳 𝘸𝘢𝘭𝘬𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘵𝘰𝘶𝘳 𝘨𝘶𝘪𝘥𝘦 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘢 𝘧𝘦𝘸 𝘩𝘰𝘶𝘳𝘴 𝘦𝘢𝘤𝘩 𝘮𝘰𝘯𝘵𝘩. https://www.kelleyhousemuseum.org/volunteers/