MendoHistory

This Day in MendoHistory: September 8, 1921- Mules Haul a Disassembled Ford Truck After Path was Blocked by Felled Trees

In collaboration with Mendocino’s Kelley House Museum, MendoFever will be publishing their “This Day in Mendocino History” Facebook posts. The Kelley House Museum works hard to document and curate Mendocino County’s rich history and can be visited in the seaside town of Mendocino.

Photo: Logger with pack mule, hauling a load of tanbark, 1880-1920. (Perley Maxwell (photographer), Gift of Emery Escola, Emery Escola Collection, Kelley House Photographs)

On this day in Mendocino history

September 8, 1921 – Ed Rasmussen and James Bowman, the local garage owner and Ford dealer, went out to Mettick Creek on the Southfork of Big River to get Rasmussen’s truck. Rasmussen had bought the Ford truck from the Caspar Lumber Company. The only problem with his purchase was that the truck was on a road that had been completely blocked by felled trees.

Bowman disassembled the truck, and they packed the pieces out to the county road on pack mules.

𝘛𝘩𝘦 𝘐𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘪𝘤 𝘔𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘰𝘤𝘪𝘯𝘰 𝘉𝘶𝘪𝘭𝘥𝘪𝘯𝘨𝘴 𝘣𝘺 𝘖𝘤𝘦𝘢𝘯 𝘞𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘘𝘶𝘪𝘭𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘪𝘴 𝘯𝘰𝘸 𝘢𝘷𝘢𝘪𝘭𝘢𝘣𝘭𝘦 𝘰𝘯𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘦! 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘣𝘦𝘢𝘶𝘵𝘪𝘧𝘶𝘭 𝘤𝘰𝘧𝘧𝘦𝘦-𝘵𝘢𝘣𝘭𝘦 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬 𝘸𝘪𝘭𝘭 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘪𝘨𝘩𝘵 𝘢𝘯𝘺𝘰𝘯𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘢 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘰𝘧 𝘔𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘰𝘤𝘪𝘯𝘰 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘢𝘯 𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘳𝘦𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘢𝘳𝘵. 𝘛𝘸𝘦𝘯𝘵𝘺-𝘴𝘪𝘹 𝘪𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘪𝘤 𝘣𝘶𝘪𝘭𝘥𝘪𝘯𝘨𝘴 𝘪𝘯 𝘔𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘰𝘤𝘪𝘯𝘰 𝘢𝘳𝘦 𝘤𝘰𝘭𝘰𝘳𝘧𝘶𝘭𝘭𝘺-𝘳𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘦𝘳𝘦𝘥 𝘰𝘯 𝘲𝘶𝘪𝘭𝘵 𝘴𝘲𝘶𝘢𝘳𝘦𝘴. 𝘌𝘢𝘤𝘩 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰 𝘣𝘦𝘢𝘶𝘵𝘪𝘧𝘶𝘭𝘭𝘺 𝘤𝘢𝘱𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘥𝘦𝘵𝘢𝘪𝘭 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘤𝘳𝘢𝘧𝘵𝘴𝘮𝘢𝘯𝘴𝘩𝘪𝘱 𝘰𝘧 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘰𝘳𝘪𝘨𝘪𝘯𝘢𝘭, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘪𝘴 𝘢𝘤𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘱𝘢𝘯𝘪𝘦𝘥 𝘣𝘺 𝘢 𝘣𝘭𝘢𝘤𝘬 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘸𝘩𝘪𝘵𝘦 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰 𝘰𝘧 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘣𝘶𝘪𝘭𝘥𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘱𝘭𝘶𝘴 𝘢 𝘣𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘧 𝘩𝘪𝘴𝘵𝘰𝘳𝘺. $40. https://www.kelleyhousemuseum.org/store/

Categories: MendoHistory

Leave a Reply