In collaboration with Mendocino’s Kelley House Museum, MendoFever will be publishing their “This Day in Mendocino History” Facebook posts. The Kelley House Museum works hard to document and curate Mendocino County’s rich history and can be visited in the seaside town of Mendocino.
On this day in Mendocino history…
September 15, 1878 – The schooner Phil Sheridan sank off the mouth of the Umpqua River in Oregon following a collision in a thick fog with the wooden sidewheel steamship, Ancon. The Phil Sheridan had been built in 1869, the first of 14 two-masted schooners built by Thomas Petersen in his shipyard at Little River. The vessel was named for the Union general of Civil War fame.
The passengers and crew were saved by the steamer, but the schooner Phil Sheridan was a total loss.
“𝘛𝘩𝘰𝘮𝘢𝘴 𝘏. 𝘗𝘦𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘯 𝘔𝘢𝘴𝘵𝘦𝘳 𝘚𝘩𝘪𝘱𝘣𝘶𝘪𝘭𝘥𝘦𝘳” 𝘣𝘺 𝘓𝘰𝘶𝘪𝘴 𝘈. 𝘏𝘰𝘶𝘨𝘩. 𝘛𝘩𝘰𝘮𝘢𝘴 𝘗𝘦𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘯 𝘣𝘶𝘪𝘭𝘵 𝘢𝘣𝘰𝘶𝘵 𝘵𝘩𝘳𝘦𝘦 𝘥𝘰𝘻𝘦𝘯 𝘸𝘰𝘰𝘥𝘦𝘯 𝘷𝘦𝘴𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘴: 𝘴𝘢𝘪𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘴𝘤𝘩𝘰𝘰𝘯𝘦𝘳𝘴, 𝘢 𝘣𝘢𝘳𝘬𝘦𝘯𝘵𝘪𝘯𝘦, 𝘴𝘵𝘦𝘢𝘮 𝘴𝘤𝘩𝘰𝘰𝘯𝘦𝘳𝘴, 𝘴𝘵𝘦𝘢𝘮 𝘵𝘶𝘨𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘭𝘪𝘨𝘩𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘴. 𝘉𝘢𝘴𝘦𝘥 𝘰𝘯 𝘗𝘦𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘯’𝘴 𝘮𝘦𝘮𝘰𝘪𝘳𝘴. $15.